| Author | Message |
Apples
145 posts |
#69778 2008-05-19 07:03 GMT |
|
I keep on getting emails saying that I have won £500,000. The email comes from the following address: From: "Uk National Lottery 2008." <winners@uklottery.org> and it reads....
Dear Winner, We are pleased to inform you of the final announcement of the UK NATIONAL LOTTERY ONLINE PROMO PROGRAMME, held on the 09 of MAY 2008,You have therefore won the total cash prize Of £500,000,00 in cash credited to file KTU/9023118308/03. To file for your claim, please contact our fiduciary agent with your details; Contact Name: Mrs Vanessa Vault Email:claimsdept118@hotmail.com 1.full name: 2.Home Address: 3.Age: 4.Sex: 5.Marital Status: 6.Phone Number: 7.Nationality 8.Country Of Residence Congratulations once more from all members and staffs of this program. Yours Truly, Sir Duke Mulder. I have emailed them back saying: How can I poss have won the prize without betting? Never got any reply. It sounds very tempting, doesn't it? I recall having watched a program on telly about a woman who got the same email and believed it. I do not remember all details but of course she'd been conned. |
|
FerociousDragon
135 posts |
#69779 2008-05-19 07:08 GMT |
|
if you haven't entered the lottery via the national lottery website then there is no way they would know your email address so it is a con sorry
|
|
Elgan
139 posts |
#69780 2008-05-19 07:12 GMT |
|
No, you haven't won the lottery. It's a scam. When they finally do get back in touch with you they will ask you to cash a check for them and then return a portion of the money for verification. Then the check will bounce and you will be left paying for it. Ignore it!! These people prey on the ones who could really use the money.
|
|
Pshycadelic
154 posts |
#69781 2008-05-19 07:12 GMT |
|
mark as spam, is a scam,
|
|
OldFriend
148 posts |
#69782 2008-05-19 07:12 GMT |
|
no way. defiantly a con. dont do it
|
|
Rob
157 posts |
#69783 2008-05-19 08:13 GMT |
|
???(não entendo!!!)
Mas, creio que gostará de participar da minha pergunta! Eu poderei entender melhor vc... |
|
Dex
144 posts |
#69784 2008-05-19 08:32 GMT |
|
Did you open the email without scanning it first? People will send these out infected with a backdoor virus that will sneak into your system, just by you clicking it open. Do you have a good antivirus software? You might want to scan your computer to make sure.
edit: just found this info on the web. It is a scam!! |
|
AbstractCat
153 posts |
#69785 2008-05-19 14:44 GMT |
|
You already know that this is a SCAM. The below links confirm various email scams hitting the internet, including the famous Yahoo/MSN lottery scams. There is also an online form for the reporting of such. (with links for your own country.) This site also gives excellent advice on what steps you can take to achieve a spam free inbox :
http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/lotteryscam_Yahoo2.php http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mail/or... Unscrupulous thieves have sent you this email and they are trying to part you from your hard earned cash. They will often ask you to call a premium rate number and keep you holding on whilst you rack up a huge phone bill. They are then paid a large proportion of this phone bill. They may ask you to divulge personal information about yourself or ask for your bank or credit card details. Do not divulge any such information under any circumstances. It is surprising how many innocent victims have been duped by these types of emails. Please remember the thieves who send them are very clever and extremely convincing. I suggest you delete the email and send it into cyberspace, hopefully along with the thieving scumbags who send them. Check out these sites for further information : http://www.scambusters.com http://www.hoax-slayer.com/ |
|
BadIan
135 posts |
#69786 2008-05-19 15:08 GMT |
|
Sorry friend but there is no Microsoft, Yahoo or other e-mail lottery, it's a scam do not answer do not give personal information.The following sites give more information
http://www.snopes.com/crime/fraud/nigeri... http://www.thescambaiter.com/forum/showt... http://www.hoax-slayer.com/email-lottery... .Also If you go to the following site you will get some info on ID theft www.identity-theft.org.uk the iinternet is safe enough if you are careful but please answer nothing that you are doubtful about.Good Luck and be careful |
|











